The Bold Voice of J&K

Polling for six J&K Legislative Council seats on April 17

0 28

Jammu: The Election Commission of India on Wednesday decided to hold the biennial elections for the six seats of Jammu and Kashmir legislative council on April 17, two days before they fall vacant.
While slating April 17 as the date for polling, the ECI notification issued today, fixed March 29 as the last date for filing nominations. The scrutiny of the papers will be held on March 30 while the candidates would be allowed to withdraw their candidature till April 3, said the ECI notification.
While fixing April 17 as the date for the polling, the notification slated the voting hours from 9 AM to 4 PM.
The ECI also appointed the J&K legislative assembly’s secretary as the returning officer and its deputy secretary as the assistant returning officer to conduct the polls.
Among the six members, to be elected, the three members each shall be from Kashmir and Jammu provinces, said the notification. Among the three members of the Jammu province, one would shall be the resident of Poonch district, it added. The five seats of the state legislative council is to fall vacant on April 19 following retirement of Jehangir Hussain Mir, Jugal Kishore, Dr Bashir Ahmad Shah Veeri, Master Noor Hussain and Yasir Reshi, while the sixth one has become vacant after the death of S Dharambir Singh Oberoi recently.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :