The Bold Voice of J&K

Level of Poonch Volleyball League to go up: VAJK

0 1,133


POONCH: The Volleyball Association of J&K (VAJK) has decided to raise the level of just concluded Shaheed DySP Manjit Singh Memorial Volleyball League at Government Degree College grounds, here.
From prize money to participating teams and the infrastructure, the VAJK shall extend a helping hand to the organisers, Shaheed DySP Manjit Singh Memorial Volleyball Club (SMSMVC).
This was stated by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the VAJK and veteran in volleyball administration of J&K, Kuldeep Magotra on the valedictory of the first of its kind event in the Union Territory.
“I have been there in Poonch for the whole event and the competition has scope to become a National event. The Association shall extend every possible help to the organisers to raise the level of the League,” said Magotra.
In the rain interrupted title clash, Makhdoomi Club Poonch and Budgam Warriors declared joint winner. When the rains halted the game the final was levelled at 1-1. The joint winner teams presented with a cash prize of Rs 75,000 and trophy.
Third place went to Lamberi Panthers after they trounced Haveli Chaos 3-2 (25-22, 21-25,25-23,24-26, 15-13). Lamberi got Rs 10,000. Semifinals: Makhdoomi Club Poonch beat Haveli Chaos 3-1 (19-25,25-23,25-22,25-23); Budgam Warrior beat Lamberi Panthers 3-1 (25-15,22-25,19-25, 21-25).
Mannat Choudhary declared best attacker while Ankush named best blocker and Haroon Rashid adjudged best universal. Amit Singh was best Libero and Saqlain Tariq declared as best setter. All these individual performers presented cash prize of Rs 5,000 each.
In the closing function, SSP Poonch could not make it to the venue and on his behalf Ajaz Choudhary (DySP) along with guest of honour, Kuldeep Magotra (CEO VAJK) in the presence of R C Sharma (treasurer VAJK), Akber Ali (office secretary VAJK) and Pardeep Khanna.
The visiting dignitaries were all praise for Mohd Tariq (chairman Shaheed DySP Manjit Singh Memorial Volleyball Club) for the idea of a League in the district. In the meantime, organisers felicitated international spiker, Amrinderpal Singh (Love). The technical panel included Neeraj Sharma, Intazar, Shafqat, Ajaz Chandak, Davinder Kumar, Davinder Singh, Sidarat Hussain, Waseem, Muzamil, Shabir, Amir Shah, Jitendra and Mohd Alyas.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :