The Bold Voice of J&K

Gujarat bypolls: BJP wins four assembly seats; Congress two

0 3

BJP logo

Ahmedabad, Sep 16 (PTI) Ruling BJP today won four seats while the Congress bagged two out of the nine Assembly seats in Gujarat, where bypolls were held on September 13.

On three other seats, where counting is underway, BJP is leading in two while Congress is ahead on one.

“Congress candidates have been declared elected in Deesa and Mangrol seats,” Additional Chief Electoral officer A H Manek said.

“BJP candidates have been declared elected in Maninagar, Tankara, Talaja and Matar,” Manek said.

Maninagar was the seat on which Prime Minister Narendra Modi emerged victorious thrice as a MLA.

On remaining three seats, Congress is leading in Khambhalia, while BJP is leading in Limkheda and Anand seats.

All the seats were earlier held by BJP and were vacated after their sitting MLAs were elected as MPs.

The by-polls are also considered as the litmus test of new Gujarat Chief Minister Anandiben Patel’s leadership.

The BJP had sought votes in the name of Modi and Patel has asked voters to gift 10 seats to him ahead of his 64th birthday. Modi will reach Ahmedabad this evening and will be present here on his birthday tomorrow.

Leave a comment