The Bold Voice of J&K

Governor to inaugurate North Zone Youth Festival at JU on Jan 15

0 33

JAMMU: The forth coming North Zone Inter University Youth Festival being hosted by Jammu University from 15th to 19th January, 2015 shall be extravaganza of different cultures of the country.
This was stated by Prof R.D Sharma, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu while addressing media persons here on Monday.
The festival shall be inaugurated by Governor and Chancellor N.N Vohra.
Highlighting the various contours of the forthcoming youth festival, Prof Sharma stated that the Association of Indian Universities has been organising the Inter-University Youth Festivals (UNIFESTS) annually since 1985 with financial support of the Ministry of Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India under the Scheme for Promotion of National Integration.
“It provides an opportunity for budding artists of the universities to showcase their talent in the field of music, dance, theater, literary activities and fine arts,” VC said adding “It is a matter of great pleasure for us that University of Jammu has the honour of hosting the five days 30th Inter University North Zone Youth Festival, 2014-15 from 15th– 19th, January 2015 under the aegis of the Association of Indian Universities, New Delhi.”
In all, 25 events of music, dance, theatre, literary activities and fine arts shall be organised simultaneously at various venues in the university, he informed adding that about 25 universities from six states of North India with more than 900 participants along with the accompanists and team managers will take part in the Festival.
The Vice-Chancellor also thanked various State agencies and administration for their support to the festival.
A 40-orty member cultural group of the University of Jammu shall also be showcasing the rich and diverse culture of the state in the mega event.
Among those University officials who attended the press conference included Prof Manoj K Dhar, Registrar, Prof Pankaj Srivastav, DSW, Prof Paremshari Sharma,Prof Meenakshi Kilam, Prof Arvind Jasrotia,Sh. Jai Kumar Sharma, Dr Sanjay Gupta,Sh Ranjeet Kalra,Dr Seema Rohmetra,Vinay Thusoo, Dr A.R Manhas, Ifra Kak, Sumeet Sharma , Kulbushan Thakur and Pankaj Gupta.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :