The Bold Voice of J&K

German musicians mesmerise with Dogri, Kashmiri folk tunes

0 33

JAMMU: ‘Santoor Recital’ by Bee Seavers of Germany organised by Indian Council for Cultural Relations, Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India with the collaboration of J&K Academy of Art Culture and Languages mesmerized the music lovers at Abhinav Theatre Jammu this evening.
History witnessed something outstandingly different when an artist who came all way from Germany surprised everyone when he started playing the soulful Dogri and Kashmiri folk tunes through his masterly strokes over Santoor. Abhishek Jadhav, an accomplished table player from Mumbai was on Tabla.
Earlier introducing the visiting International artist Bee Seavers, the Regional Director of ICCR Jammu, Balwant Thakur presented a detailed account of his artistic journey in the world of music.
Terming him as recognized as a world renowned musician, Balwant Thakur informed that Bee Seavers’s carrier started as Jazz musician in 1965 till 1978 in the USA. Since 1979 he learned the ancient instrument Santoor from India. As a master disciple of Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma, soon he became Europe’s most distinguished musician on Santoor and expert of North Indian Classical Music. He is decorated with different awards including the ‘Roshan Ara Begum Award’, the highest decoration in Pakistan for outstanding musicians.
While keep on lecturing as Musicologist, he followed many invitations round the world for playing concerts. Since 2001 he started working as scriptwriter.
Studied Musicology, Philosophy and Languages science at the University of Hamburg, UCLA and Columbia University (USA), Bee also was honored as German Ambassador for cultural music relation between India and Germany by the Goethe Institute (Max Mueller Bhavan).
On the occasion Balwant Thakur, Regional Director ICCR Jammu facilitated the visiting artists as he was joined by Dr. Arvinder Singh Amn, Additional Secretary, J&K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages, Jammu.
Prominent among those who graced the occasion include Nirmal Vinod, V.K Sambyal, Pyaare Hataash, Rajinder Raina, Ravi Sharma, Naveen Chopra, Rajiv Luthra, Vijya Thakur, K.K Gandhi, T.S Bisht and Arsh Sehbai.
The show was anchored by Anil Tickoo and the vote of thanks was presented by Dr. Arvinder Singh Amn, Additional Secretary, J&K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages, Jammu.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :