The Bold Voice of J&K

Farooq of Sarore wins 75th Smailpur Dangal title

0 35

dangal-31Sports Reporter
SAMBA: Wrestler Farooq of Sarore clinched the 75th Annual Smailpur Kesari Vishal Dangal title beating Jagdev of Ludhiana in Punjab, rather easily, in the main bout that lasted for just 11 minutes at Government Higher Secondary School, Smailpur in district Samba. A cash prize of Rs 21,000 was presented to the winning wrestler, Farooq by Joint Secretary, State Sports Council, Shiv Kumar Sharma, who was accompanied by Sarpanch, Balwant Singh Manhas and Kewal Krishan Khajuria while runners-up, Jagdev got Rs 10,000.
Organised on the auspicious occasion of Diwali by Mela Baba Santokh Nath Ji Maharaj Dangal Committee Smailpur in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, the event took place under the overall supervision of President of the Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma, Sarpanch Balwant Singh Manhas and President of the Dangal Committee, Kewal Krishan Khajuria.
In all, 70 bouts took place among wrestlers from outside and within the State. Former Minister, Surjit Singh Slathia was Chief Guest. Deputy Director, Libraries Jammu, Om Parkash, retired police officer, Prithvi Raj Sharma were Guests of Honour. Social activist and wrestling promoter, Ram Paul Sharma, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) and Surinder Sharma were among others present.
The second main bout Gurget of Amritsar and Ishaq (Lallu) of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu ended in a draw after a 23 minutes long contest. Both these wrestlers shared a cash award of Rs 25,000. The third bout was won by Kaka of R S Pura, who beat Ranjeet of Ludhiana while Nisar of J and K Police defeated Rimpy of Ludhiana for the fourth bout. The fifth main bout went to Mohd. Akram of Chouawdi who defeated Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal of Domana Akhara. Members and technical officials who helped for conduct of one day Dangal included Sarpanch Balwant Singh Manhas, Kewal Krishan Khajuria, Dr. Chajju Ram, Sant Thakur Yashwant Singh, Jeshbir Singh, Sham Singh, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Ram Paul Sharma, Prem Kumar Master, Mohd. Fareed, Mulk Raj Sharma, Sunny and Murli Dhar.
The proceedings of the Dangal were conducted by Yeshbir Singh Katal and Mohd. Fareed while welcome address was presented by Sarpanch Balwant Singh Manhas. The vote of thanks was presented by Shiv Kumar Sharma. Other results: Roshan Lal Sharma of J&K Police beat Mam Hussian of R S Pura, Mineer Khan of Nagrota beat Panku of Jammu, Kalu of Bishnah beat Dalbir of Mahore, Murad Ali of Jagti beat Subam of Pathankot, Amir Khan of Nargada beat Rishi of Jallandher, Sagar of Gurdasspur beat Jassa of Ludhiana. Bout played between Bobari of Sarore V/S Baba of Domana Akhara ended in a draw.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :