The Bold Voice of J&K

Dy CM emphasises active participation of youth in sports;KC Sports Club wins opening tie of Eid-Diwali Milan T20

0 7

JAMMU: KC Sports Club registered win against Shastri Cricket Club on average basis in the opening match of Fifth Eid-Diwali Milan Cricket Cup, organised jointly by Vishal Cricket Club and Simula Sports XI in collaboration with Sports Council and Police at Parade Ground, here on Friday.
Batting first, Shastri Cricket Club scored 111 runs in 20 overs for the loss of seven wickets. Chander (41) and Varun (35) were the main scorers. For KC Sports Club, Rohan, Abhishant and Karan Bhat picked two wickets each.
In reply, KC Sports Club, scored 42 runs in seven overs for the loss of five wickets. Surya took two wickets while Suransh grabbed one for Shastri Club. Thereafter, on the appeal of bad-light by batsmen, the jury members declared KC Sports Club as winner on average basis.
Before the start of the match it was decided and conveyed to both teams that in case the stoppage of match due to rain or bad light the average of first six overs will decide the winner. The match was officiated by Madan, Sandeep and Shugul.
Earlier, the tournament was declared open by the Chief Guest, Deputy Chief Minister, Dr Nirmal Singh who exhorted upon the youth to actively participate in sports as it helps in enhancing physical and mental health and shaping their overall personality.
Addressing the players, Dy CM said that government is taking various steps to upgrade the existing sports infrastructure in the State so that the talented youth will be provided all best possible sports facilities.
Highlighting the special Rs 200 crore package allocated from the Prime Minister’s Development Package for boosting sports infrastructure in the state, Dr Singh said that this will engage youth in constructive sporting activities so that they can compete at national and international platforms.
A total of 12 teams are participating in the tournament.
The organizing committee includes Hilal Rather, Ranjeet Kalra, Rajesh Dhar, R.P Singh, Anand Tripathi, Vivek Sharma, Saleem Ur Rehman, Vijay Saberwal, Vivek Shekher, Madan Mohan, Sadiq Hussain and Sandeep Manchanda. Rajesh Gill, Chief Prosecuting Officer and former Ranji player is the Oraganizing Secretary of the event. In the inaugural function, Dr. Vinod Kumar, Ramesh Kotwal and Des Rattan Dubey were the Guests of Honour.
Others present include Ranjeet Kalra Member BCCI, Saleem Ur Rehman, Rajesh Dhar and R.P Singh.
Meanwhile, Jammu Rising Stars registered wins in the Diwali T20 League for under-15 boys, which played at Parade Ground, here today.
In today’s match, Jammu Rising Stars defeated MIER by five wickets.
Batting first, MIER scored 115 runs in 20 overs for the loss of five wickets. Kapil (30), Snoop Bhagat (28) and Aparjit Raina (16) were main scorers. Praful took two wickets while Ritik, Tushar, Laith, Abay and Agastaya shared one each for Jammu Rising Stars.
In reply, Jammu Rising Stars chased the target in the 19 overs for the loss of five wickets. Kannav was the top scorer with 28 runs while Abhay and Shehzad made 22 and 17 respectively.
Karmanya and Shahid shared two wickets each whereas Yougan picked one. Abhay Tondon was declared Man of the Match. The match was officiated by Sadiq Hussain, Sandeep Manchanda, Sanjay Manchanda, Madan and Shugul.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :