The Bold Voice of J&K

JKP Wrestler Surjit lifts 23rd Bhamag Kesari Dangal title

0 1,055


KATRA: Reasi Wrestler Surjit of J&K Police lifted the 23rd edition of the Annual Bhamag Kesari Dangal beating wrestler Rashid of Mallerkotla in Punjab in close contest that lasted for 18 minutes at Sardabbar, Kalsote (Moungri) in District Udhampur.
Dangal was organized by J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in active support of J&K Police Department, J&K Bank Ltd., J&K Tourism Department and Bhamag Dangal Committee under the overall supervision of President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association Shiv Kumar Sharma and President Udhampur District Indian Style Wrestling Association Om Parkash Verma.
Ex. Minister Pawan Kumar Gupta was the Chief Guest, who encouraged the wrestlers whole giving away the cash prizes and witnessed the whole Dangal.
Earlier, Pawan Gupta accompanied by the J&K Bank Moungri branch Manager Manveer Singh and Rakesh Kumar (SHO) at the venue.
On his arrival, Pawan Gupta was received by Shiv Kumar Sharma, Advocate Swantantar Dev Kotwal, Hans Raj Thakur, Om Parkash Verma, Varinder Sharma, Lochan Singh, Channay Ram, Jay Parkash, Dhani Ram, Puran Singh, Rashid Mohd. Malik, Chuni Lal, Romesh Chander Sharma and Rakesh Kumar.
Shiv Kumar Sharma, Senior Vice President Indian Style Wrestling Association of India presided over the function. Bank Manager of J&K Bank Moungri Manveer Singh, SHO Panchari Rakesh Kumar and Retd. ZEO Chanay Ram were the Guests of Honour.
In total 34 bouts played in this dangal and total Rs. 1,75,000 distributed as cash prizes. Ex Minister Pawan Gupta contributed Rs. 7,300 as financial assistance to the organizer. The winner of main bout wrestler Surjit Singh presented with a cash prize of Rs. 8,000 along with traditional “Gurj (Gadda) and Patta” while runner-up wrestler Rashid got Rs. 7,000.
In the second main bout Salman of Choprashop Udhampur defeated Ankush of Harayana, Rs. 6,000 was given to winner wrestler Salman while Rs. 4,000 was given to runner-up wrestler Ankush.
The third main bout won by Mohan Singh of Roun Domail Akhara who defeated Shubam of Delhi cash prize of Rs. 5,000 was presented to winner wrestler Mohan Singh while runner-up wrestler Shubam got Rs. 3,000. Another third bout was won by Sharif of Malerkotla (Punjab) who defeated Rajesh Sharma of J&K Police. Winner wrestler Sharif given cash of Rs. 5,000 while runner-up wrestler Rajesh Sharma got Rs. 3,000.
Fourth bout was won by Jugraj of Jammu who defeated Jarnail Singh of Reasi. Rs. 5,000 was given to winner wrestler Jugraj while runner-up wrestler Jarnail Singh got Rs. 3,000.
Shiv Kumar Sharma honoured prominent social worker Shanker, age 90 years of village Kalsote by presenting him Turban, Mata Ki Chunari, Juice and Haar.
Proceedings of the Dangal were conducted by Varinder Sharma, Vice President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and Anil Kumar Resident of Reasi.
Welcome address was presented by Advocate Swantanter Dev Kotwal, Chairman Lord Shiv-Parvati Caves Shrine (Moungari) Development Board and Vote of thanks was presented by Hans Raj Thakur (Sarpanch Damnote).
Members of organizing committee who helped in smooth conduct of Dangal were Jay Parkash (President) Dhani Ram (General Secrtary), Rashid Mohd. Malik (Senior Vice President), Puran Singh (Cashier), Romesh Singh (Ex Sarpanch), Om Parkash Verma, Lochan Singh, Rajinder Singh Ranyal, Tulinder Kumar, Subash Chander and Rakesh Kumar.

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :