The Bold Voice of J&K

Andhra turn tables on J and K after conceding lead

0 2

MUMBAI: Andhra turned the tables on Jammu and Kashmir in a dramatic fashion after conceding the first innings lead, as they romped to an exciting four-wicket victory with 15 balls to spare in a Ranji Trophy Group C match here today.
Andhra, trailing J and K by 79 runs in the first innings, shot out their rivals for a meagre 111 on the fourth and final day of the game and then reached the target for the loss of six wickets in 49.3 overs. Andhra had to make 191 in 52 overs and they completed the chase when Siva Kumar struck J and K off spinner Parvez Rasool for a boundary. The other unconquered batsman was Ashwin Hebbar who made an invaluable 27 in 33 balls with five fours.
Andhra were 82 for 3 at tea, needing 109 runs for victory, and were pushed back by a two-wicket burst in successive overs by medium pacer Ram Dayal to leave them at 149 for five.
Dayal sent back top scorer D B Ravi Teja (50) after breaking the stubborn fourth-wicket partnership of 62 between the two-down batsman and A G Pradeep (27) by castling the latter. But Hebbar kept his cool and although Rasool, who picked up the first three wickets, struck by dismissing M Sriram when Andhra were 174, he stuck to his task admirably and took his team past the finish line in the company of Siva Kumar.
While Rasool did the early damage, first innings bowling hero for J and K Aamir Aziz went wicket-less after bowling 17 overs for 73 runs.
Earlier, left-arm spinner Bhargav Bhatt ran through the J and K line-up by grabbing five for 60. He was given good support by medium pacer P Vijay Kumar, who claimed three wickets. J and K, overnight 31 for 2, were all out in 55 overs after having made 334 in the first innings to which Andhra had replied with 255.
Andhra secured six points for the win to take their points tally to 8 from three matches while J and K remained on 7 points from three games.

score board

Jammu and Kashmir 1st Innings 334-10
Andhra 1st Innings 255-10
Jammu and Kashmir 2nd Innings 111-10
Shubham Khajuria c Prasanth Kumar b B Bhatt 49
Adil Reshi b B Bhatt 03
Ian Dev Singh lbw b B Bhatt 15
Mithun Manhas (c) c Ravi Teja b P Vijaykumar 05
Parvez Rasool c Srikar Bharat b P Vijaykumar 14
Bandeep Singh c Ravi Teja b B Bhatt 00
Puneet Bisht (wk) c Srikar Bharat b Sivakumar 15
Aamir Aziz run out (Ashwin Hebbar) 04
Ram Dayal c Srikar Bharat b B Bhatt 03
Samiullah Beigh c Sivakumar b P Vijaykumar 00
Umar Nazir not out 00
Extras 03
Total 111/10
Andhra 2nd Innings
Prasanth Kumar c R Dayal b P Rasool 19
Srikar Bharat (wk) c B Singh b P Rasool 31
Hanuma Vihari (c) c A Reshi b P Rasool 14
Dwaraka Ravi Teja c A Reshi b R Dayal 50
AG Pradeep b R Dayal 27
Ashwin Hebbar not out 27
Murumulla Sriram lbw b P Rasool 12
Duvvarapu Siva Kumar not out 05
Extras 09
Total 194/6

Leave a comment
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :