The Bold Voice of J&K

4,000 athletes take part in ‘Jammu Marathon’



JAMMU: Jammu Marathon, a mega event was organised by Jammu and Kashmir Police under its Civic Action Programme here at Gulshan Ground, this morning. ADGP Jammu Mukesh Singh flagged-off the run.
Director General of Police, J&K, Dilbag Singh, who presided over the flag-in ceremony, presented awards and prizes among the winners of the event.
Ashok Bhan (retired DGP), Commandant General HG/CD/SDRF J&K, Dr. B. Srinivas, Spl DG CID J&K, R. R. Swain, Spl DG Crime J&K, A.K Choudhary, ADsGP SJM Gillani, Mukesh Singh, M.K Sinha, Danesh Rana, IGsP Vikramjeet Singh and B S Tuti, DIsG Sarah Rizvi, Imtiaz Ismail, Ajit Singh Salaria and Nisha Nathyal, AIsG of PHQ, SSP Jammu, Jammu based Commandants of IRP/JKAP, SP PCR/APCR, Jurisdictional officer and large number of participants attended the ceremony.
Speaking on the occasion, DGP appreciated ADGP Armed J&K and his team for successful conduct of the event and said that he is proud of the fact that J&K Police is leading from the front in organizing the events in almost every sports category to provide a platform to the JK youth.
DGP congratulated the winners of the event and wished them good luck for the future besides announced a cash reward for the young kids who performed Wushu show on the occasion.
In his welcome address, ADGP Armed SJM Gillani said that Jammu Marathon was the 4th major event organised by JK Police under its Civic Action Programme this year. He informed that 4000 athletes including athletes from across the country participated in 11 different categories.
In 21 Kms half marathon Men category, Ritik Sharma, Pankaj Kumar and Narender Singh won first three positions respectively and in 10 Kms road race Women above 18 category, Rimpy Devi, Gunjan Preet Kour & Shamshad Bano won first three positions respectively. In the 10 Kms road race for boys U-18, Vishal Sharma, Shamsher Singh & Sunny Sharma won first three positions and in 10 Kms road race for girls U-18, Sakhshi Thakur, Sara Naqash & Mantasha Jan won first three positions respectively.
In 10 Kms for veteran men above 45 years, Ram Raj, Shafat-ul-Bashir & Parshotam Lal emerged first three winners respectively while in 10 Kms for veteran women above 45 years, Anuradha, Sonia Sawhney & Satwant Kour won first three positions respectively.
In 5 Kms sub junior boys U-14, Bharat Kumar, Akhil Kumar, Hashim Riyaz, Parul Kumar & Mohd Imran won first five positions respectively and in 04 kms sub junior girls U-14, Komal, Anjali Devi, Hiranya Mahajan, Pratiba Devi and Mahika Sharma won first 5 position respectively. Similarly, in 02 Kms for specially abled (Male), Makhan Lal, Ranjesh Singh, Tushar Kundan, Akash Singh and Mohammad Ubair won first five position respectively and in 02 Kms for specially abled (female), Komal Shamra, Anu Sharma, Disha Devi, Guria and Damani Sharma won first five positions. Abhinandan Jain, 69 years, was the oldest participant in men and Renu Razdan was the oldest women athlete. Vivansh Dhar 5 years and S. Tapasya 6 years were youngest boy and girl participants respectively. Among Raffle draw winners, 1st Prize goes to Mr. Bhaskar Gupta, 2nd Prize goes to Mr. Sudanshu Sharma and 3rd Prize Cycle goes to Mr. Divanshu Sharma.

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :